incatrail4days
EN
EnglishDeutschEspañolFrançais
Home / Reviews
Standard trainsolo pays $1,605 ?

Machu Picchu Inca Trail 4 Day in Small Groups Review

Groups of 10 and free cancellation up to 24 h. Machu Picchu is a photo stop only, and a solo traveler pays almost double at checkout.

In Machu Picchu Circuit 1, panorama onlyTrain back class not statedGroup max up to 10Travelers 1 or more
◆ $823
advertised per person · $1,605 for one · checked 26 Sep 2026
★ 4.9
17 reviews
Check dates
✓ sells to one traveler · free cancellation up to 24 h
Advertised $823 per person · $1,605 for one traveler
Advertised, per person
$823
Checkout, 1 adult
$1,605 · ×1.95

Checked for one adult on the nearest date. Two travelers booking together should see the advertised price; confirm in the calendar before you pay.

Duration
4 days / 3 nights
Distance
42–46 km
High point
4,215 m
Start
5:00 AM pickup, Cusco
Group
up to 10
Travelers
1 or more
Cancellation
free cancellation up to 24 h
Train back
class not stated
This trek on the trail

Route and Camps

Km 822,720 m
WayllabambaNight 1
Dead Woman's Pass4,215 m
PacaymayoNight 2
Wiñay WaynaNight 3
Sun Gate2,720 m
Machu Picchu2,430 m

Pink dots are where this trek camps; other operators use different sites on the same trail.

Machu Picchu Inca Trail 4 Day in Small Groups, Day by Day

Groups of up to ten and free cancellation up to 24 hours before make this listing different from most on the trail. Two things matter before you book: the advertised $823 per person is a shared-booking price — a single adult pays $1,605 at checkout — and inside Machu Picchu the ticket covers Circuit 1, the panoramic viewpoint, not a guided walk through the citadel.

  1. Day one. Pickup at 4:00–5:00 AM, the drive to Km 82 (2,720 m), past Llactapata to the camp at Wayllabamba, 3,000 m.

  2. Day two. Up to Dead Woman's Pass at 4,215 m and down to Pacaymayo at 3,600 m.

  3. Day three. Runkurakay at 3,850 m, the second pass at 4,000 m, Sayacmarca, Phuyupatamarca and down to Wiñay Wayna at 2,650 m.

  4. Day four. The Sun Gate at 2,720 m and Machu Picchu at 2,430 m. The guided tour of the citadel needs an extra re-entry ticket, and Huayna Picchu has to be booked three to six months ahead.

The main thing

What the price includes. Inca Trail and Machu Picchu entry for Circuit 1, an English-speaking guide, a cook, porters for the equipment and a 5 kg allowance for your own gear, an inflatable mattress, pillow and duffel bag, hotel pickup and drop-off in Cusco, the train and bus back, three nights camping and three of each meal. Check dates for this trek.

What it leaves out. The sleeping bag and trekking poles, breakfast on day one and lunch and dinner on day four, the Huayna Picchu ticket, tips and travel insurance. One reviewer found the tent and sleeping bag not warm enough for the temperatures on the trail — bring or rent a bag rated for cold nights.

Options on 1 Nov 2026

Start
5:00 AM
1 adult
$1,605
2 adults
$823 per person
Check this date

One option. A single adult pays $1,605; the advertised price assumes a shared booking.

Included
Inca Trail permit and entry to Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu: Circuit 1, panorama only
Porter for 5 kg of your gear
Train back: class not stated
Hotel pickup at 5:00 AM
Not included
Sleeping bag
Trekking poles
Breakfast day 1; lunch and dinner day 4
Huayna Picchu / Machu Picchu Mountain entry
Travel insurance
Tips
Guided tour of the citadel (extra ticket)

Trek Comfort: 0 of 4

· 1 not stated · hover or tap each for the fact
Porter ≥ 7 kg
5 kg only
Porter carries 5 kg — the rest is in your daypack
Sleeping bag & mattress
Rent
Sleeping bag is a rental — not in the price
Private toilet tent
Shared
Shared camp toilets only
Panoramic train back
Not stated
Train class back not stated
sells to one traveler · free cancellation up to 24 h

What Reviewers Rate

Guide
4.8
Transportation
4.6
Value for money
4.5
Out of 5, from GetYourGuide reviews.
Same trail, three different insides

Against the Two Most-Reviewed Alternatives

Bars and squares show size; green marks the best value in each row; dashed means the operator doesn't say.

From
$823$1,605 for one
✓ best$798per person
$835per person
Reviews
★ 4.917 reviews
✓ best★ 4.9592 reviews
★ 4.9123 reviews
Group max
✓ bestup to 10one square = one trekker
up to 16one square = one trekker
up to 16one square = one trekker
Travelers
Sells to one
Sells to one
Sells to one
In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1, panorama only
✓ bestCircuit 1 & 3
Circuit 3
Train back
class not stated
✓ bestVistadome · panoramic
✓ bestVistadome · panoramic
Porter carries
5 kgof your gear
✓ best7 kgof your gear
✓ best7 kgof your gear
Sleeping bag
For rent
For rent
For rent
Trek comfort
0 of 4 · 1 not stated
✓ best
3 of 4
✓ best
3 of 4
Cancellation
✓ bestFree up to 24 h
Non-refundable
Non-refundable
For whom
Solo travelers and groups, who may need to cancel
Solo travelers and groups, who want the most-reviewed trek and the Vistadome home
Solo travelers and groups and the Vistadome home

Good to Know

  1. 01Pickup from your Cusco hotel at 5:00 AM.
  2. 02Your passport number goes on the permit — travel with the same passport.
  3. 03Permits are personal: the date and the name can't be changed.
  4. 04Cancellation: free cancellation up to 24 h.
  5. 05Sells to a single traveler at the listed price.
  6. 06Groups of up to 10.
  7. 07The trail is closed every February.
  8. 08The high point is Dead Woman's Pass, 4,215 m, on day two.
  9. 09The porter carries 5 kg of your gear.
  10. 10Huayna Picchu is not included and sells out months ahead.
  11. 11Train back: return train to Ollantaytambo (class not stated).
  12. 12Tips and travel insurance are not included.

From People Who Walked It

Nicolas Daniel30 May 2025
Honest minus
“Everything was perfect except for the quality of the equipment; the tent and sleeping bag were not suitable for the temperatures we encountered.”
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small GroupsReview from GetYourGuide

Questions About This Trek

Yes, but a single adult pays $1,605 at checkout, against the advertised $823 per person, which assumes two or more booking together.

If you travel alone, compare it with the treks that sell to one at the listed price — six of the sixteen do, including the one we recommend at $798. If you are two, the advertised price is the one each of you pays.

Circuit 1, panorama only is what this trek's Machu Picchu ticket covers.

Many tickets now include a single circuit, and a second circuit needs its own ticket, so check the listing if you want to see more. Huayna Picchu is always a separate ticket with limited places, and has to be booked months ahead.

You return on the return train to Ollantaytambo (class not stated).

The train runs from Aguas Calientes, below Machu Picchu, to Ollantaytambo, and the road transfer continues to Cusco. Other treks use a different class — the Vistadome on the two most-reviewed, a standard or Expedition train on most others.

The porter carries 5, 6 or 7 kg of your own gear on the treks that state an allowance, on top of the group's tents, food and kitchen.

The two most-reviewed treks carry 7 kg, the most any listing states; four treks include no personal porter and sell one as an extra. Whatever doesn't fit — water, rain shell, warm layer, camera — goes in the daypack you carry yourself.

No — the sleeping bag is a rental on this trek, as on most of the sixteen.

Budget for it, or bring your own bag rated for cold: nights at the 3,600 m camp are close to freezing. Only one trek in our comparison includes a sleeping bag and mattress in the price.

Hotel pickup in Cusco is at 5:00 AM on day one, so plan an early night before the trek.

Pickup times on the sixteen treks run from 4:00 to 6:00 AM, and the operator confirms the exact time and meeting point after booking. Bring the passport on your booking — it is checked against the permit at Km 82.

The listing's cancellation terms are: free cancellation up to 24 h.

Inca Trail permits are bought in your name for one date and can't be resold, which is why many 4-day treks don't refund. If your plans might change, compare the treks with free cancellation, and consider travel insurance, which none of the sixteen treks includes.

Groups on this trek are up to 10 trekkers, plus the guide, cooks and porters who walk with you.

Group sizes on the sixteen treks run from 8 to 16. Smaller groups tend to keep a more even pace, and the guide gets to know how each person is coping with the altitude.

From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small Groups◆ $823 · $1,605 for one
Check dates →✓ sells to one traveler · free cancellation up to 24 h
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
◆ from $798 · sells to one
Check dates