incatrail4days
EN
EnglishDeutschEspañolFrançais
Home / Reviews
Standard trainSmall groupneeds 2 travelers ?

Inca Trail 4 Day Tour for a Group of Eight Review

Eight people at most and the sleeping bag in the price. Two must book together; the Machu Picchu circuit is not stated.

In Machu Picchu not statedTrain back ExpeditionGroup max up to 8Travelers 2 minimum
◆ $980
per person · 2 minimum · checked 26 Sep 2026
★ 5.0
1 reviews
Check dates
✓ price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Duration
4 days / 3 nights
Distance
42–46 km
High point
4,215 m
Start
not stated
Group
up to 8
Travelers
2 minimum
Cancellation
reserve now & pay later
Train back
Expedition
This trek on the trail

Route and Camps

Km 822,720 m
WayllabambaNight 1
Dead Woman's Pass4,215 m
PacaymayoNight 2
Wiñay WaynaNight 3
Sun Gate2,720 m
Machu Picchu2,430 m

Pink dots are where this trek camps; other operators use different sites on the same trail.

Inca Trail 4 Day Tour for a Group of Eight, Day by Day

The smallest group on the trail — up to eight — and the only trek of the sixteen with the sleeping bag and air mattress in the price. It costs $980 per person for two or more travelers, you can reserve now and pay later, and it has one review so far.

  1. Day one. Private transport from your hotel with breakfast at an organic farm in Urubamba, then Km 82 at Piskacucho, the cactus forest, Willkaraccay and Llactapata to the camp at Wayllabamba.

  2. Day two. Dead Woman's Pass and down to the Pacaymayo river.

  3. Day three. Runkurakay, Sayacmarca above the Aobamba valley, views of Salkantay and Pumasillo, the Inca tunnel, Phuyupatamarca and Wiñay Wayna.

  4. Day four. The Sun Gate, a guided tour, free time in Machu Picchu, the bus down and the Expedition train to Ollantaytambo, then private transport to your Cusco hotel.

The main thing

What the price includes. Private transport both ways, porters for all the gear, Inca Trail and Machu Picchu entry, an English-speaking guide and chef, all camping equipment including the sleeping bag and air mattress, four breakfasts, three lunches and three dinners with snacks, boiled water, oxygen and first aid, the bus and the Expedition train. Check dates for this trek.

What it leaves out. Lunch and dinner on day four, trekking poles (rent in Cusco), tips and travel insurance. The listing doesn't state a porter allowance for personal gear or a toilet tent, so ask before you book if either matters to you.

Options on 1 Nov 2026

Start
not stated
1 adult
not bookable for 1
2 adults
$980 per person
Check this date

This trek has one option on GetYourGuide; a single adult can't book it.

Included
Inca Trail permit and entry to Machu Picchu
Sleeping bag and mattress
Train back: Expedition
Not included
Lunch & dinner day 4
Trekking poles (rent in Cusco)
Tips
Travel insurance
Huayna Picchu ticket
Not stated by the operator: porter allowance, toilet tent, Machu Picchu circuit, start time.

Trek Comfort: 1 of 4

· 2 not stated · hover or tap each for the fact
Porter ≥ 7 kg
Not stated
Porter allowance not stated by the operator
Sleeping bag & mattress
Included
Sleeping bag and mattress are in the price
Private toilet tent
Not stated
Toilet tent not stated
Panoramic train back
Standard
Train back: Expedition to Ollantaytambo
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later

What Reviewers Rate

Sub-ratings (guide, transport, value) appear once the listing has more reviews.
Same trail, three different insides

Against the Two Most-Reviewed Alternatives

Bars and squares show size; green marks the best value in each row; dashed means the operator doesn't say.

From
$980pp · 2 min
✓ best$798per person
$835per person
Reviews
★ 5.01 reviews
✓ best★ 4.9592 reviews
★ 4.9123 reviews
Group max
✓ bestup to 8one square = one trekker
up to 16one square = one trekker
up to 16one square = one trekker
Travelers
2 minimum
✓ bestSells to one
✓ bestSells to one
In Machu Picchu
not stated
✓ bestCircuit 1 & 3
Circuit 3
Train back
Expedition
✓ bestVistadome · panoramic
✓ bestVistadome · panoramic
Porter carries
not stated
7 kgof your gear
7 kgof your gear
Sleeping bag
✓ bestIncluded
For rent
For rent
Trek comfort
1 of 4 · 2 not stated
✓ best
3 of 4
✓ best
3 of 4
Cancellation
✓ bestPay later
Non-refundable
Non-refundable
For whom
Two or more traveling together, who want the sleeping bag included
Solo travelers and groups, who want the most-reviewed trek and the Vistadome home
Solo travelers and groups and the Vistadome home

Good to Know

  1. 01The operator doesn't state a start time; ask before you book.
  2. 02Your passport number goes on the permit — travel with the same passport.
  3. 03Permits are personal: the date and the name can't be changed.
  4. 04Cancellation: reserve now & pay later.
  5. 05Two travelers minimum; one person can't book.
  6. 06Groups of up to 8.
  7. 07The trail is closed every February.
  8. 08The high point is Dead Woman's Pass, 4,215 m, on day two.
  9. 09Porter allowance is not stated.
  10. 10Huayna Picchu is not included and sells out months ahead.
  11. 11Train back: Expedition to Ollantaytambo.
  12. 12Tips and travel insurance are not included.

From People Who Walked It

No quotes collected for this trek yet — the rating above comes from GetYourGuide.

Questions About This Trek

No — two travelers must book this trek together, and the listing isn't bookable for one person at any price.

The per-person price shown is what each of you pays when two or more book. If you travel alone, look at the six treks that sell to one at the listed price, starting with the one we recommend at $798.

The operator doesn't state which Machu Picchu circuit the ticket covers.

Ask before you book, because many tickets now include a single circuit and a second one needs its own ticket. Huayna Picchu is always a separate ticket with limited places, and has to be booked months ahead.

You return on the Expedition to Ollantaytambo.

The train runs from Aguas Calientes, below Machu Picchu, to Ollantaytambo, and the road transfer continues to Cusco. Other treks use a different class — the Vistadome on the two most-reviewed, a standard or Expedition train on most others.

The porter carries 5, 6 or 7 kg of your own gear on the treks that state an allowance, on top of the group's tents, food and kitchen.

The two most-reviewed treks carry 7 kg, the most any listing states; four treks include no personal porter and sell one as an extra. Whatever doesn't fit — water, rain shell, warm layer, camera — goes in the daypack you carry yourself.

Yes — the sleeping bag and an air mattress are in the price on this trek, which is rare: it is the only one of the sixteen that includes both.

Nights at the 3,600 m camp are close to freezing, so a warm bag you don't have to rent or carry from home is a real saving.

The listing doesn't state a pickup time; the operator confirms it after booking.

Pickup times on the sixteen treks run from 4:00 to 6:00 AM, so plan an early night before day one, and bring the passport on your booking — it is checked against the permit at Km 82.

The listing's cancellation terms are: reserve now & pay later.

Inca Trail permits are bought in your name for one date and can't be resold, which is why many 4-day treks don't refund. If your plans might change, compare the treks with free cancellation, and consider travel insurance, which none of the sixteen treks includes.

Groups on this trek are up to 8 trekkers, plus the guide, cooks and porters who walk with you.

Group sizes on the sixteen treks run from 8 to 16. Smaller groups tend to keep a more even pace, and the guide gets to know how each person is coping with the altitude.

From Cusco: Classic Inca Trail 4-days to Machu Picchu◆ $980 · pp · 2 min
Check dates →✓ price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
◆ from $798 · sells to one
Check dates