incatrail4days
EN
EnglishDeutschEspañolFrançais
Home / Reviews
Train add-onCheapestneeds 2 travelers ?

Inca Trail 4 Days 3 Nights Camping Trek Review

The lowest price of all sixteen for two booking together. Only two reviews so far, and the train back is an add-on.

In Machu Picchu not statedTrain back add-onGroup max up to 14Travelers 2 minimum
◆ $750
per person · 2 minimum · checked 26 Sep 2026
★ 5.0
2 reviews
Check dates
✓ price for 2 travelers booking together
Duration
4 days / 3 nights
Distance
42–46 km
High point
4,215 m
Start
not stated
Group
up to 14
Travelers
2 minimum
Cancellation
non-refundable
Train back
add-on
This trek on the trail

Route and Camps

Km 822,720 m
WayllabambaNight 1
Dead Woman's Pass4,215 m
PacaymayoNight 2
Wiñay WaynaNight 3
Sun Gate2,720 m
Machu Picchu2,430 m

Pink dots are where this trek camps; other operators use different sites on the same trail.

Inca Trail 4 Days 3 Nights on the Lowest Price, Day by Day

At $750 per person this is the lowest price of the sixteen treks, and it is honest about why: two travelers must book together, no personal porter is included, the sleeping bag is an add-on and the train back from Machu Picchu is bought separately. The listing gives more day-by-day detail than most.

  1. Day one. About 12 km with a high point near 3,000 m, and temperatures of 10–23 °C, to the camp at Wayllabamba.

  2. Day two. About 10 km — 7 up and 3 down — over the pass, with temperatures of 3–20 °C, to the camp at Pacaymayo.

  3. Day three. Runkurakay, Sayacmarca and Phuyupatamarca, then down through the cloud forest to Wiñay Wayna.

  4. Day four. About 6 km, a two-hour walk to the Sun Gate and a guided tour of Machu Picchu. The train (1.5 hours) and the bus to Cusco (1.5 hours) are add-ons. The listing gives 45 km in total.

The main thing

What the price includes. A pre-departure briefing in Cusco, a bilingual guide (two guides for groups over ten), hotel pickup and transfers to the trailhead, a tent and air mat, three of each meal plus snacks, hot drinks and a happy hour, boiled water, porters for the group equipment, the permits and fees for porters and cooks, entry to the Inca Trail and Machu Picchu and a guided tour of the citadel. Check dates for this trek.

What it leaves out. Breakfast on day one and lunch on day four, the train back and the transfer to your hotel, a personal porter (7 kg, add-on), the sleeping bag and poles (add-ons) and tips. It is non-refundable once booked.

Options on 1 Nov 2026

Start
not stated
1 adult
not bookable for 1
2 adults
$750 per person
Check this date

This trek has one option on GetYourGuide; a single adult can't book it.

Included
Inca Trail permit and entry to Machu Picchu
Not included
Breakfast day 1
Train MP→Ollantaytambo (add-on)
Transfer Ollantaytambo→hotel (add-on)
Extra porter 7 kg (add-on)
Sleeping bag (add-on)
Trekking poles (add-on)
Lunch day 4
Tips
Huayna Picchu ticket
Not stated by the operator: toilet tent, Machu Picchu circuit, start time.

Trek Comfort: 0 of 4

· 2 not stated · hover or tap each for the fact
Porter ≥ 7 kg
Not included
No personal porter — the listing sells one as an extra
Sleeping bag & mattress
Add-on
Sleeping bag is a paid add-on
Private toilet tent
Not stated
Toilet tent not stated
Panoramic train back
Not stated
Train class back not stated
price for 2 travelers booking together

What Reviewers Rate

Sub-ratings (guide, transport, value) appear once the listing has more reviews.
Same trail, three different insides

Against the Two Most-Reviewed Alternatives

Bars and squares show size; green marks the best value in each row; dashed means the operator doesn't say.

From
✓ best$750pp · 2 min
$798per person
$835per person
Reviews
★ 5.02 reviews
✓ best★ 4.9592 reviews
★ 4.9123 reviews
Group max
✓ bestup to 14one square = one trekker
up to 16one square = one trekker
up to 16one square = one trekker
Travelers
2 minimum
✓ bestSells to one
✓ bestSells to one
In Machu Picchu
not stated
✓ bestCircuit 1 & 3
Circuit 3
Train back
Add-on, not included
✓ bestVistadome · panoramic
✓ bestVistadome · panoramic
Porter carries
No personal porter
✓ best7 kgof your gear
✓ best7 kgof your gear
Sleeping bag
Paid add-on
For rent
For rent
Trek comfort
0 of 4 · 2 not stated
✓ best
3 of 4
✓ best
3 of 4
Cancellation
Non-refundable
Non-refundable
Non-refundable
For whom
Two or more traveling together, on the tightest budget
Solo travelers and groups, who want the most-reviewed trek and the Vistadome home
Solo travelers and groups and the Vistadome home

Good to Know

  1. 01The operator doesn't state a start time; ask before you book.
  2. 02Your passport number goes on the permit — travel with the same passport.
  3. 03Permits are personal: the date and the name can't be changed.
  4. 04Cancellation: non-refundable.
  5. 05Two travelers minimum; one person can't book.
  6. 06Groups of up to 14.
  7. 07The trail is closed every February.
  8. 08The high point is Dead Woman's Pass, 4,215 m, on day two.
  9. 09No personal porter is included; the listing sells one as an extra.
  10. 10Huayna Picchu is not included and sells out months ahead.
  11. 11The train back is not included or not stated.
  12. 12Tips are not included.

From People Who Walked It

No quotes collected for this trek yet — the rating above comes from GetYourGuide.

Questions About This Trek

No — two travelers must book this trek together, and the listing isn't bookable for one person at any price.

The per-person price shown is what each of you pays when two or more book. If you travel alone, look at the six treks that sell to one at the listed price, starting with the one we recommend at $798.

The operator doesn't state which Machu Picchu circuit the ticket covers.

Ask before you book, because many tickets now include a single circuit and a second one needs its own ticket. Huayna Picchu is always a separate ticket with limited places, and has to be booked months ahead.

The train back isn't included on this trek — it is an add-on.

Budget for a ticket from Aguas Calientes to Ollantaytambo and the road transfer to Cusco, or choose a trek that includes both; the two most-reviewed treks include the Vistadome panoramic train.

The porter carries 5, 6 or 7 kg of your own gear on the treks that state an allowance, on top of the group's tents, food and kitchen.

The two most-reviewed treks carry 7 kg, the most any listing states; four treks include no personal porter and sell one as an extra. Whatever doesn't fit — water, rain shell, warm layer, camera — goes in the daypack you carry yourself.

No — the sleeping bag is a paid add-on on this trek.

Add it when you book, or bring your own bag rated for cold, because nights at the 3,600 m camp are close to freezing. Only one trek in our comparison includes a sleeping bag and mattress in the price.

The listing doesn't state a pickup time; the operator confirms it after booking.

Pickup times on the sixteen treks run from 4:00 to 6:00 AM, so plan an early night before day one, and bring the passport on your booking — it is checked against the permit at Km 82.

The listing's cancellation terms are: non-refundable.

Inca Trail permits are bought in your name for one date and can't be resold, which is why many 4-day treks don't refund. If your plans might change, compare the treks with free cancellation, and consider travel insurance, which none of the sixteen treks includes.

Groups on this trek are up to 14 trekkers, plus the guide, cooks and porters who walk with you.

Group sizes on the sixteen treks run from 8 to 16. Smaller groups tend to keep a more even pace, and the guide gets to know how each person is coping with the altitude.

Cusco: Machu Picchu Inca Trail 4-Day Trek◆ $750 · pp · 2 min
Check dates →✓ price for 2 travelers booking together
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
◆ from $798 · sells to one
Check dates